The Bell Jar

The Bell Jar Author Sylvia Plath
ISBN-10 9780062444479
Year 2015-08-11
Pages 288
Language en
Publisher HarperCollins
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Sylvia Plath's shocking, realistic, and intensely emotional novel about a woman falling into the grip of insanity Esther Greenwood is brilliant, beautiful, enormously talented, and successful, but slowly going under—maybe for the last time. In her acclaimed and enduring masterwork, Sylvia Plath brilliantly draws the reader into Esther's breakdown with such intensity that her insanity becomes palpably real, even rational—as accessible an experience as going to the movies. A deep penetration into the darkest and most harrowing corners of the human psyche, The Bell Jar is an extraordinary accomplishment and a haunting American classic.

Ariel

Ariel Author Sylvia Plath
ISBN-10 0571322727
Year 2015-04-02
Pages 81
Language en
Publisher Red Shed
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Experience the wonder of the written word from some of the greatest writers of the modern age, with Faber Modern Classics. Featuring an introduction from Frieda Hughes.

The Bell Jar by Sylvia Plath

The Bell Jar  by Sylvia Plath Author Janet McCann
ISBN-10 1587658364
Year 2011
Pages 403
Language en
Publisher Salem PressInc
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

The Bell Jar is a highly distinctive and unusual book, and although the era of the 1950's it represents has faded and disappeared into history, the power of this novel does not dissipate. The original essays in this volume each take on a specific angle from which to examine the work. One essay discusses the issue of nature vs. nurture in the novel, while another discusses the similarities between Plath's work and Susanna Kaysen's Girl, Interrupted. The older essays provide some of the finest scholarship on The Bell Jar that has been made available over the years, and offer a wide variety of critical approaches to this work.

Sylvia Plath

Sylvia Plath Author Raychel Haugrud Reiff
ISBN-10 076142962X
Year 2008
Pages 144
Language en
Publisher Benchmark Books
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

"A biography of writer Sylvia Plath that describes her era, her major works--the novel The bell jar and her poetry--her life, and the legacy of her writing"--Provided by publisher.

Letters Home

Letters Home Author Sylvia Plath
ISBN-10 9780571266340
Year 2011-02-03
Pages 512
Language en
Publisher Faber & Faber
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Letters Home represents Sylvia Plath's correspondence from her time at Smith College in the early 1950s, through her meeting with, and subsequent marriage to, the poet Ted Hughes, up to her death in February 1963. The letters are addressed mainly to her mother, with whom she had an extremely close and confiding relationship, but there are also some to her brother Warren and her benefactress Mrs Prouty. Plath's energy, enthusiasm and her passionate tackling of life burst onto these pages, providing us with a vivid and intimate portrait of a woman who has come to be regarded as one of the greatest of twentieth-century poets. In addition to her capacity for domestic and writerly happiness, however, these letters also hint at Plath's potential for deep despair, which reached its crisis when she holed up in a London flat for the terrible winter of 1963.

Winter Trees

Winter Trees Author Sylvia Plath
ISBN-10 9780571264162
Year 2010-11-25
Pages 55
Language en
Publisher Faber & Faber
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

The poems in this collection were all written in the last nine months of Sylvia Plath's life, and form part of a group from which the Ariel poems were chosen. Her radio play 'Three Women', also included here, was written slightly earlier, in the transitional period of The Colossus and Ariel. 'A book that anyone seriously interested in poetry now must have . . . Sylvia Plath's immense gift is evident throughout.' Martin Dodsworth in the Guardian

The Colossus

The Colossus Author Sylvia Plath
ISBN-10 9780571264193
Year 2010-12-09
Pages 96
Language en
Publisher Faber & Faber
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Originally published in 1960, The Colossus was the only volume of Sylvia Plath's poetry published before her death in 1963. Showing a scholarly dedication to the craft, the poems in this collection are brimming with originality and the startling imagery that would later confirm her status as one of the most important poets of the twentieth century. 'On every page, a poet is serving notice that she has earned her credentials and knows her trade.' Seamus Heaney 'She steers clear of feminine charm, deliciousness, gentility, supersensitivity and the act of being a poetess. She simply writes good poetry. And she does so with a seriousness that demands only that she be judged equally seriously . . . There is an admirable no-nonsense air about this; the language is bare but vivid and precise, with a concentration that implies a good deal of disturbance with proportionately little fuss.' A. Alvarez in the Observer

Prozac Nation

Prozac Nation Author Elizabeth Wurtzel
ISBN-10 9780547524146
Year 2014-11-04
Pages 317
Language en
Publisher Houghton Mifflin Harcourt
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Elizabeth Wurtzel's New York Times best-selling memoir, with a new afterword "Sparkling, luminescent prose . . . A powerful portrait of one girl's journey through the purgatory of depression and back." —New York Times "A book that became a cultural touchstone." —New Yorker Elizabeth Wurtzel writes with her finger on the faint pulse of an overdiagnosed generation whose ruling icons are Kurt Cobain, Xanax, and pierced tongues. Her famous memoir of her bouts with depression and skirmishes with drugs, Prozac Nation is a witty and sharp account of the psychopharmacology of an era for readers of Girl, Interrupted and Sylvia Plath’s The Bell Jar.

Sounds from the Bell Jar

Sounds from the Bell Jar Author Gordon Claridge
ISBN-10 9781349104994
Year 2016-07-27
Pages 260
Language en
Publisher Springer
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Madness and creativity - are they related? Two literary scholars and a psychologist bring a unique blend of professional skills to bear on this question, first reviewing the contemporary scientific evidence and then examining in detail the lives and works of ten authors - dating from the Middle Ages to the 20th century - who, as judged here by the latest diagnostic techniques, demonstrably suffered from a psychotic illness. For its material the book draws extensively on the subjects' own written words to illustrate the intimate connection that existed between the authors' creative expression and what they felt and perceived as psychotic persons.

Sylvia Plath s The Bell Jar

Sylvia Plath s The Bell Jar Author Harold Bloom
ISBN-10 9781604132038
Year 2009-01-01
Pages 175
Language en
Publisher Infobase Publishing
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

An overview of the novel features a biographical sketch of the American author, a list of characters, a summary of the plot, and critical and analytical views of the work.

Einstein s Dreams

Einstein s Dreams Author Alan Lightman
ISBN-10 9781780335582
Year 2012-04-05
Pages 144
Language en
Publisher Hachette UK
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

A modern classic, Einstein's Dreams is a fictional collage of stories dreamed by Albert Einstein in 1905, when he worked in a patent office in Switzerland. As the defiant but sensitive young genius is creating his theory of relativity, a new conception of time, he imagines many possible worlds. In one, time is circular, so that people are fated to repeat triumphs and failures over and over. In another, there is a place where time stands still, visited by lovers and parents clinging to their children. In another, time is a nightingale, sometimes trapped by a bell jar. Now translated into thirty languages, Einstein's Dreams has inspired playwrights, dancers, musicians, and painters all over the world. In poetic vignettes, it explores the connections between science and art, the process of creativity, and ultimately the fragility of human existence.

The bed book

The bed book Author Sylvia Plath
ISBN-10 UOM:49015000924218
Year 1976-01
Pages 40
Language en
Publisher HarperCollins Publishers
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Describes various beds that are much more interesting than beds for sleeping, such as a jet-propelled bed, snack bed, pocket-size bed, and bounceable bed.

Owls Do Cry

Owls Do Cry Author Janet Frame
ISBN-10 9780349006680
Year 2016-01-14
Pages 256
Language en
Publisher Hachette UK
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Owls Do Cry is the story of the Withers family: Francie, soon to leave school to start work at the woollen mills; Toby, whose days are marred by the velvet cloak of epilepsy; Chicks, the baby of the family; and Daphne, whose rich, poetic imagination condemns her to a life in institutions. 'Janet Frame's first full-length work of fiction, Owls Do Cry, is an exhilarating and dazzling prelude to her long and successful career. She was to write in several modes, publishing poems, short stories, fables and volumes of autobiography, as well as other novels of varied degrees of formal complexity, but Owls Do Cry remains unique in her oeuvre. It has the freshness and fierceness of a mingled cry of joy and pain. Its evocation of childhood recalls Blake's Songs of Innocence and of Experience, as well as the otherworldly Shakespearean lyric of her title and epigraph, but her handling of her dark material is wholly original' Margaret Drabble

Sylvia Plath Drawings

Sylvia Plath  Drawings Author Sylvia Plath
ISBN-10 9780062316882
Year 2013-11-05
Pages 72
Language en
Publisher Harper Collins
DOWNLOAD NOW READ ONLINE

Sylvia Plath: Drawings is a portfolio of pen-and-ink illustrations created during the transformative period spent at Cambridge University, when Plath met and secretly married poet Ted Hughes, and traveled with him to Paris and Spain on their honeymoon, years before she wrote her seminal work, The Bell Jar. Throughout her life, Sylvia Plath cited art as her deepest source of inspiration. This collection sheds light on these key years in her life, capturing her exquisite observations of the world around her. It includes Plath’s drawings from England, France, Spain, and New England, featuring such subjects as Parisian rooftops, trees, and churches, as well as a portrait Ted Hughes. Sylvia Plath: Drawings includes letters and diary entries that add depth and context to the great poet’s work, as well as an illuminating introduction by her daughter, Frieda Hughes.